Hainan Medical University China

About Hainan Medical University China

Hainan Medical University (HMU)

is located in Haikou, the capital city of Hainan Province in China. Founded in 1993, it is the only medical university directly under the Hainan Provincal government and approved by the China’s Ministry of Education.
The history of the university began with the integration of two medical schools, the privately-owned Haiqiang Medical Vocational School (founded in 1947) and the privately-owned Medical College of Hainan University (founded in 1948).

The university has three campuses with 139 hectares of land, located on Chengxi Road, Longhua Avenue and West Coast . Currently, there are over 2299 faculty and staff, doctors and nurses in the university, among whom more than 157 are professors and 317 are associate professors.

The University now offers 27 specialties in three different medical disciplines to undergraduates, including medicine, science and management and 21 specialties for vocational program. The university hosts 15 schools and departments,e.g. School of Clinical Medicine, School of Vocational Education and School of International Education etc. There are 6 provincial key disciplines, 4 provincial key laboratories, 15 provincial excellent courses, and 3 provincial key courses. There are 80 teaching and internship bases and 4 affiliated hospitals, one of which is directly under the HMU. To date, HMU has enrolled over 12,000 Chinese students and more than 100 international students.